2009 JCA Hill Climb Championships

Race Report

Caesarean Cycling Club’s Robin Ovenden completed the Jersey racing season by winning the Boulay Bay Hill Climb on Sunday morning.

Ovenden took the Jersey Cycling Association championship to claim his 4th title of the season following on from his three JCA Time Trial successes. Ovenden crossed the finish line in 2 minutes and 11 seconds on a slippery morning, with wet roads making the hill’s hairpin corners tricky to negotiate at speed. Tony Cornic’s record of 2 minutes remains in tact.

Ovenden won by seven seconds from CCC teammate Adam Wojtkiewicz, the latter who recorded the same time of 2:18 as Velo Sport Jersey’s Nick Le Cocq.

The climb is an event whereby Juniors are permitted to compete along side the adults and VSJ’s Junior Steven Haley produced a fine ride of 2:34 to place fourth overall and claim the Junior title.  Fellow VSJ riders Sam Carney and George Milner took the Silver and Bronze medals with times of 2:34 and 2:51 respectively.

CCC’s John Derrien produced the ride of the morning to share the Veteran’s title with team mate Mike Harris in a time of 2:37, this being Derrien’s first JCA title in many years.  CCC’s Kevin Pilley took Bronze in the Veteran’s just one second behind the joint winners.

VSJ’s Jo Le Cocq was the First Lady in a time of 3:03, beating Carol Knight of CCC and Susan Williams of VSJ who took Bronze.

Oh and Tony Moffa beat Mike Keighrey in a time trial… the pair were reportedly arguing the definition of a time trial some hours later and a fight broke out allegedly….

Velo Sport’s Junior Sam Carney powers his way to 9th place



Date Time Season Club
4th October 2009 08:00 2009 CCC

Race Results

Position Rider Club Category Time Category Position
2Adam WojtkiewiczGuest RiderSenior2:18 
14Andy HullCaesarean Cycling ClubVeteran2:47 
23Bill BuistVelo Sport JerseySuper Veteran3:07 
20Bruno FranciscoVelo Sport JerseySenior2:55 
25Carol KnightCaesarean Cycling ClubLady3:14 
8Christian BickelCaesarean Cycling ClubSenior2:32 
13David MaymanCaesarean Cycling ClubVeteran2:41 
31Gemma DerrickVelo Sport JerseyLady3:52 
19George MilnerVelo Sport JerseyJunior2:51 
30Hugh PercivalCaesarean Cycling ClubJunior3:51 
22Jo Le CocqVelo Sport JerseyLady3:031st Lady
17John CarneyVelo Sport JerseyVeteran2:48 
10John DerrienCaesarean Cycling ClubVeteran2:37= 1st Veteran
21Karl LaugeardVelo Sport JerseyJunior2:58 
12Kevin PilleyCaesarean Cycling ClubVeteran2:38 
5Martin SmithCaesarean Cycling ClubSenior2:30 
29Mary CrowVelo Sport JerseyLady3:45 
10Mike HarrisCaesarean Cycling ClubJunior2:37= 1st Veteran
17Mike KeighreyVelo Sport JerseyVeteran2:48 
2Nick Le CocqCASPSenior2:18 
26Oliver LowthorpeBig Maggys Race TeamJunior3:16 
5Paul MillarBig Maggys Race TeamSenior2:30 
7Peter IltonVelo Sport JerseySenior2:31 
11Robin OvendenCaesarean Cycling ClubSenior2:11 
28Ryan O’SheaVelo Sport JerseySenior3:29 
9Sam CarneyVelo Sport JerseyJunior2:34 
14Shaun CrowtherCaesarean Cycling ClubVeteran2:47 
4Stephen HaleyCaesarean Cycling ClubJunior2:241st Junior
24Steve BlairCaesarean Cycling ClubVeteran3:11 
27Susan WilliamsVelo Sport JerseyLady3:18 
14Tony MoffaBig Maggys Race TeamSenior2:47